Farm Futures
   Search Site:  Search Site Thursday, April 17, 2014 | Bookmark This Site   
Skip Navigation Links
Farm Futures NOW!
Magazine Online
RSS News
About Us

College Ag Advocacy Competition Winners Announced

North Dakota State University students take top prize in College Aggies Online competition

Published on: Apr 5, 2013

The U.S. Farmers & Ranchers Alliance Friday announced the winners of the Animal Ag Alliance's fourth annual College Aggies Online scholarship competition, revealing North Dakota State University as the top prizewinner.

The nationwide program was developed to help college students utilize social media to share agriculture's story. USFRA partnered with the Animal Ag Alliance on its CAO scholarships program providing additional funding, curriculum development including message training, and program promotion.  

"We applaud the student participants for sharing their personal stories through social media, and answering questions from their community about how food is grown and raised," said Bob Stallman, chairman of USFRA and president of the American Farm Bureau Federation. "USFRA appreciates the opportunity to partner with Animal Ag Alliance in aligning our messaging and training the next generation of agriculture advocates."

College agriculturalists used social media platforms to compete in the College Aggies Online contest.
College agriculturalists used social media platforms to compete in the College Aggies Online contest.

According to Stallman, enlisting the help of young farmers and ranchers in USFRA's movement will be critical to the future success and acceptance of today's agriculture since they already have existing social media platforms and can help lead the dialogue from those mediums.

Student Award Winners Include:

Group 1st Place: North Dakota State University Post-Secondary Agriculture Students/Collegiate FFA in North Dakota

Group 2nd Place: Purdue University's Collegiate Beef Cattle Association

Group 3rd Place: Montana State University's Collegiate Montana Stock growers Club

Group 4th Place: Louisiana State University Les Voyageurs club

Individual 1st Place: Tiffany Swanson of North Dakota State University

Individual 2nd Place: Zachary Frazier of Purdue University

Individual 3rd Place: Karoline Rose of Montana State University