Farm Futures
   Search Site:  Search Site Sunday, April 20, 2014 | Bookmark This Site   
Skip Navigation Links
Farm Futures NOW!
Magazine Online
RSS News
About Us

National Farmers Union Foundation Awards Six Scholarships

Scholarship recipients take home five $1,000 awards and one $2,000 award

Published on: Aug 16, 2013

The National Farmers UnionThursday announced the recipients of six Foundation scholarships.

Five Stanley Moore $1,000 scholarships were awarded to Julia Birgen of Lafayette, Colo., Hunter Huff Towle of Bismarck, N.D., Kelsey Schlegel of Dalmatia, Pa., Hayley Siroky of Roy, Mont., and Derek Tarabetz of Chamberlain, S.D.

The scholarships were established in the memory of Stanley Moore for his life-long dedication to Farmers Union. He served as the NFU vice president and as chairman of the NFU Insurance Companies.

The $2,000 Hubert and JoAnn Seymour Scholarship has been awarded to Kyle Knutson of Kathryn, N.D.

This scholarship is named in honor of lifetime Illinois Farmers Union member Hubert K. Seymour and his wife. It has been given annually to outstanding high school seniors since 1995.

Scholarship recipients take home five $1,000 awards and one $2,000 award
Scholarship recipients take home five $1,000 awards and one $2,000 award

"These young people were selected from among all the great applicants from across the country," NFU President Roger Johnson said. "Education plays an important role in Farmers Union, and I'm very thankful to see all the applicants are so actively involved in their schools and communities." 

NFU Foundation is now accepting applications for the 2014 award year. Information on qualifications and the applications can be found at